The Nigerian Govt Releases Details Of Paris Club Refund (See Breakdown)

The Nigerian Government has finally released details of the first tranche of N516.38bn reimbursement made to the 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory from the Paris Club debt refund.
According to a statement by Salisu Danbatta, director of information in the Ministry of Finance on Friday in Abuja, five states got the highest amount of refund from the Federal Government.

The states are Rivers N34.92bn, Delta N27.6bn, Akwa Ibom N25.98bn, Bayelsa N24.89bn and Kano N21.7bn.
The government had initially turned down repeated requests to release the payment details.

The payment totals N516.38 billion.

The Federal Capital Territory got the lowest share with just N1.3 million.

“The funds were released to state governments as part of the wider efforts to stimulate the economy and were specifically designed to support states in meeting salary and other obligations, thereby alleviating the challenges faced by workers,” the statement said.

Kemi Adeosun

Kemi Adeosun

The statement said the payments were made upon the approval of President Muhammadu Buhari on November 21, 2016.
The money was supposed to be used to clear a backlog of salaries. The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) is investigating its usage.

“The releases were conditional upon a minimum of 50 percent is applied to the payment of workers’ salaries and pensions. The Federal Ministry of Finance is reviewing the impact of these releases on the level of arrears owed by state governments.

“A detailed report is being compiled for presentation to the Acting President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, as part of the process for approval for the release of any subsequent tranches,” the statement read.

Below is the breakdown:



1 ABIA 11,431,531,742.97
2 ADAMAWA 10,257,434,321.63
3 AKWA IBOM 25,981,255,165.12
4 ANAMBRA 12,243,313,404.68
5 BAUCHI 13,755,553,122.51
6 BAYELSA 24,895,696,347.55
7 BENUE 13,709,343,498.51
8 BORNO 14,681,869,730.63
9 CROSS RIVER 12,150,687,893.85
10 DELTA 27,606,963,362.46
11 EBONYI 9,016,166,759.96
12 EDO 12,182,253,184.99
13 EKITI 9,545,673,294.17
14 ENUGU 10,723,578,819.32
15 GOMBE 8,945,755,396.38
16 IMO 14,001,610,365.94
17 JIGAWA 14,215,333,413.52
18 KADUNA 15,443,458,455.10
19 KANO 21,740,390,362.48
20 KATSINA 16,404,261,819.71
21 KEBBI 11,954,998,982.90
22 KOGI 12,055,455,191.60
23 KWARA 10,241,288,653.14
24 LAGOS 16,743,876,266.21
25 NASARAWA 9,102,098,342.24
26 NIGER 14,421,586,309.89
27 OGUN 11,478,749,388.92
28 ONDO 14,007,296,628.57
29 OSUN 12,628,212,681.25
30 OYO 13,315,423,054.25
31 PLATEAU 11,288,158,110.82
32 RIVERS 34,925,785,322.06
33 SOKOTO 12,882,257,093.52
34 TARABA 9,326,607,975.00
35 YOBE 10,826,206,233.18
36 ZAMFARA 10,884,771,188.99
37 FCT 1,369,735,000.09
TOTAL 516,384,636,883.81

Follow Us on Social Media

Related posts

error: Content is protected !!
WhatsApp WhatsApp us