INEC Absolves Staff of Result Manipulation

By Adewale Olayemi
The Resident Electoral Commissioner for Osun state, Mr. Olusegun Agbaje, has debunked reports that a staff of the commission was caught in Ayedaade Local Council while trying to manipulate election result.
Agbaje while briefing the media Tuesday in Osogbo, reiterated the need to set the record straight in view of the misgivings the false news has generated in the state. According to him, ” the Electoral Officer for Ayedaade LGA, Mrs Aderinoye Olukemi Alice, on the information she received from the Local Government Security Chief that there was an error on the form EC 60 [E] INEC PUBLICATION OF RESULT OF POLL Poster at the Local Government Collation Centre i.e St Patrick Grammar School Gbongan, and after cross-checking the results sheet for the collation EC 8C to confirm the information, called her staff Mutiu Salawu to remove the pasted EC 60 [E] poster with error and replace it with a correct one.
He insisted that Mutiu Salawu was carrying out his lawful duty as directed by his boss when he was rounded up by a mob who rough handled him and took him to the house of one Adelani Ajanaku along Gbongan/Osogbo road where he was humiliated and subjected to a session of manipulated photo shoot, the product of which was circulated on social media before he was eventually brought to the State Office of INEC in Osogbo.
While setting the records straight, Agbaje stated that; ”When the matter was raised by Mr Dele Adeleke, the PDP agent at the State Collation Centre, the original copies of the Result Sheets EC 8A, EC 8B and EC 8C for Ayedaade LGA were examined and found to be the correct reflection of the conduct of the Governorship Election in Ayedaade Local Government, as reported by Prof. Ayotunde Adeagbo from the Federal University of Technology, Akure.”
The Osun INEC boss registered his displeasure with a section of the media for repeatedly broadcasting the malicious information thereby casting doubts in the minds of the people of Osun and generality of Nigerians through misinformation of the public.
On the re-run election slated for Thursday 27 September, he disclosed that the Commission shall be holding the election in four local councils in the state. The areas are Ife North LGA – Oyere RA 11 RA Code10.  Ife South LGA – Olode RA Code 07 Polling Unit 12 with 812 registered voters; Osi RA Code 08 Polling Unit 010 Alutu Elerin Pry. Schl. Albert Village with 502 registered voters. Orolu LGA – Olufon Orolu H RA Code 08 Polling Unit 001 Kajola Village with 393 registered voters; RA Olufon Orolu H RA Code 08 Polling Unit 004 Idi Iya Village; Olufon Orolu1 RA Code 09 Polling Unit 03 Gbogbo Pry. Schl. Osogbo LGA – Ataoja ERA Code 05 Polling Unit 017, Adewole Street. The total number of registered voters in units where election did not hold is 3,498.
Agbaje assured all stakeholders that the Commission will not stake its goodwill and credibility on the altar of manipulation or any shoddy dealings in the course of discharging its duties and will ensure that every vote counts.
Follow Us on Social Media

Related posts

Select Language
error: Content is protected !!
WhatsApp WhatsApp us