Tinubu Beats Osinbajo, Amaechi to Win APC Ticket

Ahmed Bola Tinubu, former governor of Lagos State and a chieftain of the All Progressives Congress, APC has emerged the winner of the primaries to elect the flagbearer of the party for the 2023 election. he scored 1, 271 votes to defeat Rotimi Amaechi, former minister of Transportation who scored 316 votes, while Vice President Yemi Osinbajo scored 235 votes to come third. It was a long night of intrigues, negotiations and compromise that saw the exercise that started on Tuesday ending on Wednesday afternoon.
The results:
Tinubu: 1, 271 votes
Amaechi: 316 votes
Osinbajo: 235 votes
Ahmed Lawan: 152 votes
Yahaya Bello:47 votes
David Umahi: 38 votes
Ben Ayade: 37 votes
Ahmed Yerima: 04 votes
Ogbonaya Onu: 01 vote
Emeka Nwajoba: 01 vote
Tunde Bakare: Nil
Ikonabasi: Nil
Rochas Okoroja: Nil
Before the voting commenced former governors Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom and Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun, as well as Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti Stateand Dimeji Bankole, former speaker of the House of Representatives all announced that they were stepping down for Tinubu. They were joined by Governor Muhammad Badaru of Kebbi State and Senator Ajayi Borofice from Ondo state.
The race was a long and tortuous one during which supporters of the contestants threw darts at one another. Tinubu who had said that becoming president of Nigeria was a life time ambition will now square up with Atiku Abubakar, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP and Peter Obi, candidate of Labour Party among others at the forthcoming general lection in 2023.

click here to read more articles

Follow Us on Social Media

Related posts

Select Language
error: Content is protected !!
WhatsApp WhatsApp us