Wike, Folarin, Others Win PDP Governorship Tickets

Nyesom Wike, former Supervising Minister of Education has emerged as the governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP in Rivers State at the party’s primary election held in Port Harcourt, the state’s capital on Monday.

At the event, which was conducted under tight security, 17 aggrieved aspirants from the party stayed away as they were said not to be on good grounds with the state’s party leadership.

Meanwhile, Teslim Folarin former Senate Leader won the Oyo State governorship ticket of the PDP while some aspirants shunned the primary election claiming that “it is illegal.”

Three out of the seven aspirants in attendance contested against Folarin, who won with 167 votes while two others abstained.

In Niger State’s primary election of the PDP, Umur Nasko, former Chief of Staff to the governor, emerged as the party’s Governorship candidate after he polling 908 out of the total 1023 votes cast at the primaries held in Minna, the State’s capital.

At the PDP primary election held at Umuahia township stadium, Abia State, Okezie Ikpeazu won the governorship ticket. He defeated other contestants including Uche Ogah, former Minister of Labour, Emeka Nwogu and Okey Emuchay, a former Ambassador of Nigeria to South Africa.

Mukhtar Yero, the incumbent Governor of Kaduna State emerged the PDP governorship candidate for the February 2015 elections in the state.

Yero defeated Zego Aziz, his only challenger with 970 votes while the latter got only one vote and one vote was declared invalid.

Udom Emmanuel, a former Executive Director of the Zenith Bank and immediate past Secretary to Akwa-Ibom State Government won the PDP Governorship ticket in Akwa-Ibom State.

Ayogu Eze, emerged winner in Enugu State PDP governorship primaries to contest in the 2015 governorship election.


Follow Us on Social Media

Related posts

error: Content is protected !!
WhatsApp WhatsApp us